Hey Kids….missed me?

September 13, 2015 at 2:33 am (By Ron) ()

Hi there all…..I haven’t been around much….it’s been a strange few months, and not all has been good.  The worst?

Living in a tent, in the rain, behind a grocery store, so sick I couldn’t pick myself off the ground and wound up call 911 and having 6 EMTs haul me out of the woods on a stretcher.  Days were spent in the hospital….that time, the first of 3 visits to the ER in a week.

Things are better now…but not by much.  A group of friends helped out in the short term….people I haven’t spoken to in 40 years.  Remarkable!  But I’ve been recovering most of the last month…it’s been pretty ugly.

But things have been pretty stressful/awful for a lot of people I know.  It’s sobering to deal with a lot of suffering when there isn’t much you can do.   Often the best thing I do is shut up and listen.  Many is the time I wish I could reach out and hug a lot of these people when things go bad, but I can’t.  You give them love….often just through the phone.  So many of these folks are people I admire for a lot of reasons;  they’re better people than I, is what I feel, and the least I can do is help them recover themselves so they can help the people who depend on them.  I’m just me out here; I could fall off the earth and who’d know? (exempting the readers of this blog of course!)

Trump is giving me hope I can still be President!  I have more hair!  May need to get the teeth worked on though…

Ginger shows us how to go through life….flying over the rails!

 

pickyourselfstill

1 Comment

  1. LouiseM said,

    My answer to the question of, “Have you missed me?” is Yes.

    Yes, also to the difficulty of flying over the rails or lifting another to help them fly, when physical care and base line survival is the priority. That you’re able to listen and offer love is no small thing. Are you also able to write? It seems to me as though these mostly silent halls could handle a story or two about real life, remembered or currently experienced.

    From my reading today, in the book, Writing Alone and With Others, by the now 81 year old author, Pat Schneider, this:

    We are all connected to one another and to the mystery at the heart of the universe through our strange and marvelous ability to create words. When we write, we create, and when we offer our creation to one another, we close the wound of loneliness and may participate in healing the broken world. Our words, our truth, our imagining, our dreaming, may be the best gifts we have to give.

Leave a Reply

