The verdict: very good!

September 11, 2012 at 10:51 am (By Ron)

So, I finally got around to making the steak sauce I mentioned a bit ago….and forgot to take pictures!

But it is a very good sauce!  Darker in color than the picture I had posted, it is also a bit sweet, but with a lot of flavor.  I’ve been using it on burgers and even fries, but not a steak yet!

Yes, I did like it better than a commercially made sauce, so I recommend making it.  It’s a lot of ingredients, but it’s pretty easy to make, and I love roasting a pepper right on the burner of the stove to get the blackened effect on it.

Update:  Ah!  In the comments, Amba requests the link and recipe.

The earlier post   

The recipe (from SmittenKitchen, scroll down a bit…)

Update II:

We strive to be a full service blog, so I made some more sauce!

Notice it looks a bit darker than the earlier pictures

and put it on some burgers, made with sauteed spinach and mushroom with sauce on top.

these are for me…


  1. amba (Annie Gottlieb) said,

    So glad you posted this here, but — link?? Recipe??

  2. mockturtle said,

    OK–I’ll try it next time I fix steak. Of course, that could be a l-o-o-o-n-g time and I don’t eat hamburger. I do buy stew meat occasionally and braise it with some onions or mushrooms. Might be good on that. I wonder if it would also work on, say, pork tenderloin or even chicken?

  3. Pete said,


  4. mockturtle said,

    Looks yummy!! :-)

  5. karen said,

    Mmmmm- funny how just looking makes my mouth water.
    Maybe taste is, after all, amba- the seat/root of our being:0).
    Because i can’t smell it at all and it still feels good.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

