Amen, Sister!

December 21, 2011 at 11:43 am (By Ron)

Ron here.  I, too, will be having a melancholic Christmas, but I think for different reasons than Amba.  My best friends mother passed away suddenly, almost 2 weeks ago (!), and this has caused her and her family considerable difficulty, as Grandma was a big part of financially helping a family with 2 kids and a lot of struggling themselves.  I just saw her mother at a wonderful Thanksgiving and now… gone.  I’m still having a hard time grasping it myself.  And me?  Things are bad for me and may get worse….I’m trying to keep myself in my home of now 26 years, but I’m having a hard time doing so.  Even I’m unsure what will happen, as I have no family of my own to turn to.

But while Peter, Paul and Mary are one way to look at a Gloomy Tinsel Season, I’ve always chosen another song:  Fairytale of New York.

My first thought was, hey, shouldn’t this be an Amba song, too?  Sure, why not.   It’s a duet between Shane MacGowan (poster child for British Dentistry) and Kirsty MacColl, and rapidly becoming a New Holiday standard, one I hope to record with my friend CamieVog someday. So, let’s hope the New Year brings better things for us all, God bless us.

10 Comments

  1. karen said,

    Ron, the comment i left on the post below yours– is for you, too.

    Ever shoveled shit before? Maybe we could use you:0).

    Here, here to a better New Year!

  2. kngfish said,

    Karen, I did work at the worlds largest wastewater plant! One of their slogans was “Your shit is our bread and butter”!

  3. Icepick said,

    One of their slogans was “Your shit is our bread and butter”!

    I assume that was printed on all the business cards?

    ;)

  4. kngfish said,

    no…but on the occasional baseball jacket! along with “Sparkle City!”

  5. Icepick said,

    along with “Sparkle City!”

    LMAO!

  6. Icepick said,

    Let me add my voice to those hoping for a much better new year. Reading this by Ron

    and this has caused her and her family considerable difficulty, as Grandma was a big part of financially helping a family with 2 kids and a lot of struggling themselves.

    I breifly thought Ron must know my wife Kim, but then I realized the timeline was off by a few weeks. I’d really love for me and my family and my friends to have a good year in 2012. It would be a bracing change of pace.

  7. kngfish said,

    Icepick, it’s a nation full o’ hurtin’ right now…

  8. Icepick said,

    Brother, you just said a mouthful.

  9. lh said,

    {in a very small, quiet voice, and in the fear of God and everything else}

    Is it better to wish that the new year brings new and better things for us, or that in the new year we will find and grasp hard on things we can work at that can make life better and–maybe, even, if fortunate in that endeavor and if we work hard enough–new for ourselves?

  10. lh said,

    If work is one’s primary goal when one has no work, then the goal is to find work. If that’s not the primary goal, then the goal is something else. Consider, if you will, considering that (as I have, and do, and am).

    Signed, with warmest regards,

    lh

    12/21/2011

Leave a Reply

