The Space Program and Me

July 19, 2009 at 8:09 pm (By Miles Lascaux)

I was born in 1960, so you’d think it would be a big part of my life. And I guess it was. Tang, and all that. I do remember staying up for the historic moment.* I wanted to be an astronaut when I was 5. I wanted to be a firefighter, too, and by the time I was 7 I wanted to be a paleontologist.

It seeped into our play. But probably not in a way NASA would have applauded. For instance, out in the outer suburbs, my best friend Billy and I (age 7 or 8 then) used to pluck Japanese beetles from the flowers and fruit trees, embed them in fist-sized mudballs, and stand in the middle of the street and hurl them as high as we could. They came down with a splat that sprayed mud from one curb to the other. Sometimes, there was a stunned beetle in the center of it. If so, he was immediately sent up on another mission. One survived seven flights and re-entries, and we dubbed him “Viktor Viktory,” and let him go, which I guess now means the Russians still were winning at that point.

* Actually, the moonwalk was a hoax. Michael Jackson never did it. It was staged on a treadmill in a warehouse in Nevada.

1 Comment

  1. Ron said,

    Let’s not forget Space Food Sticks, a childhood fav of mine… more than Tang, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

