How we will know the end of the world.

July 11, 2009 at 6:17 pm (By Rodjean)

Recent news reports have mentioned a likely North Korean spam attack disabling computers in South Korea and the U.S.  It occurs to me that many countries have cyber-warfare units designed to disable computer communications or to defend against the same, which led me to the realization that nuclear Armageddon would probably be preceded by 20 minutes of people staring at computer screens with hundreds of nonsense messages.  The world may end with a bang or a whimper, but it will probably be preceded by a lot of gibberish.

10 Comments

  1. Theo Boehm said,

    …but it will probably be preceded by a lot of gibberish.

    My God! The end is near! Run for your lives!!

  2. Rod said,

    Good point, Theo.

  3. Ron said,

    A new meaning to ‘three-figured salute’, eh?

  4. Donna B. said,

    I’m quite sure that Gutenberg’s press was also cited as signaling the end of the world by at least one person.

    Of course, unless that person took advantage of the technology, we wouldn’t know would we?

    I had an interesting conversation with my father last week when I mentioned that his youngest granddaughter was showing signs of “nesting” and that he might have another great-grandchild in the foreseeable future.

    His response was that he thought it wasn’t wise to bring a new life into the world as unstable as it is now.

    I merely laughed and asked him how stable the world was when he was born and if he wished he’d never been born. He admitted that he’d been happy as a child even though his family was very poor and had none of the modern conveniences available even during the 1920s and 30s.

    Should the “world” end tomorrow I will not regret my existence today.

  5. Jason (the commenter) said,

    I thought the end of the world was going to happen when the sun had one of it’s regularly scheduled solar storms and our power grid went down for several years.

  6. Rod said,

    “There will be signs and wonders.” I don’t know about the rest of you, but if the Cubs ever win the Pennant, I’ll assume the end is nigh.

  7. Rod said,

    “…but it will probably be preceded by a lot of gibberish.My God! The end is near! Run for your lives!!”

    Theo: It is a little disturbing that you were reading Ambiance when you wrote your words in response to mine.

  8. Theo Boehm said,

    Ah, but Rod, of course I had to be on Ambiance, because I was posting a comment here.
    You didn’t ask me what I had just finished reading ;-)

  9. wj said,

    Rod, the existence of Cub’s fans scattered around the country is proof (PROOF!) that hope for the future never dies. But I have to say that, when the Cubs finally win the World Series, it will be a sign, not of the end of the world, but of the dawn of the best of times.

  10. amba12 said,

    a k a when hell freezes over? Chicago gets almost that cold in winter.

Leave a Reply

