Notes toward a definition of what we’re doing here

April 28, 2009 at 2:46 pm (By Amba)

Note to a longtime blogfriend & potential contributor about a month ago (if I’ve posted it before, forgive me; I’m entering the Repetition Years).

It’s auguring to be a somewhat nonpolitical place — not that anything is off limits.  But politics doesn’t dig deep enough to get at what we seem to be longing for . . . our bearings.

Note today to a new political blogger seeking to exchange links:

Much appreciated, but I’ve just largely decommissioned AmbivaBlog and am spearheading a less political group blog, Ambiance, which doesn’t have a blogroll yet.  It’s not that we rule out talking about politics, just that we have the feeling a much broader shift is underway and politics is just the tip of the iceberg, if that.

I hope the “we” is not presumptuous.  This isn’t “my place.”  So correct me if I’m wrong; or elaborate more on what you think is going on here, or would like it to be.

4 Comments

  1. Theo Boehm said,

    As far as I’m concerned, that isn’t presumptuous at all. It’s just what I thought was going to be the direction.

  2. Melinda said,

    Not only are “we” heading in that direction, but I’ve been heading in that direction, so assume away.

  3. Ron said,

    The more my friends try to paint me into a political corner, the more I wind up rejecting politics as a whole.

  4. Donna B. said,

    Ron — exactly!

    I do not want to be defined by someone else’s definitions of where my ideas/ideals lie on the political spectrum. For one thing, they are all over the place, so how can I be labeled so easily?

    It’s sad that I fight this battle most often with my brother and sister. My husband (through a fascination with CSpan) has come around to my way of thinking that one side (perhaps even both together) don’t know the “truth”.

Leave a Reply

