Miss Spider’s Tea Party

May 4, 2013 at 2:51 am (By Tim) (, , , , , )

miss_spiders_tea_party

Miss Spider’s Tea Party, a charming children’s book in a series by David Kirk, was written well before the founding of the political group of the same name. In this book, Miss Spider hosts a vegetarian tea party for her insect friends. They are understandably nervous, but Miss Spider has learned to replace Nature with Kindness and literally wouldn’t hurt a fly. In this, she is a thoughtful, politically-correct, modern, liberal sort of arachnid. She plainly would never have anything to do with the political Tea Party, had it existed in her day.

The following video shows Nancy Pelosi, children, and Members of Congress, including the late Ted Kennedy, enrolling the Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007. This is a normal Congressional procedure turned into an occasion for a very off-key rendition of “Itsy-Bitsy Spider.” You can tell who comes from a large family, or at least was raised properly (not Speaker Pelosi), because they get the words right.

Miss Spider would certainly approve.

The following video, on the other hand, is the stuff of Miss Spider’s nightmares. In it, Gov. Chris Christie of New Jersey demonstrates for a group of impressionable schoolchildren his forthright and robust solution to the Spider Problem.

You’re a mean man, Gov. Christie.

Miss Spider would never vote for you.

13 Comments

  1. amba12 said,

    Delightful. Tea party, indeed. I don’t have time to watch the video right now (work backup and a wedding on the beach this evening), but I so enjoy Chris Christie.

  2. karen said,

    I hope it’s been as beautiful where you are(both)as it’s been in VT weather wise. Amba, i’d love a post of how your life has been- i wasn’t sure if you were still in FL- hope you get to/got to… meet ice and his family!

    Nancy Pelosi– my faaa-aa-avvorite spider.
    Same condescending wench toward W as i always remembered… ~Working together…let’s see how this works out, Mr. President *smirk*~.

  3. chickelit said,

    Not the original Tea Party but closer to the source: link

  4. chickelit said,

    According to the ever-morphing Wikipedia, the term “Boston Tea Party” only entered the lexicon in 1838. Surely Lewis Carroll meant nothing of the sort in his children’s classic.

    I wonder whether Bostonians ever get annoyed with fly over people’s usurpation of the term?

    What’s still unforgettable for me is the partisan mocking Sarah Palin took for saying “Party Like It’s 1773” which I thought was very clever.

  5. lehg said,

    I saw that Chris Christie video yesterday on Facebook. It cracked me up. I am a bad woman, no doubt.

  6. lehg said,

    Annie, good luck with your work backlog and have fun at the wedding!

    It’s a very, very short video if you do take a break, though.

  7. wj said,

    I second Karen’s request. Amba, we’re way overdue for a status update!

  8. Icepick said,

    I can add this much: Annie did get to see us on her way down, back in December. Unfortunately all too brief a visit, but a visit nevertheless. And we had her stay with us for a night the previous year.

  9. karen said,

    That so great!
    Isn’t her voice the best?

    Also, everyone got so technically historical about this post, but i… let PoP-eyed Pelosi get the best of me… again.

  10. lehg said,

    Well, since Icepick broke the ice, so to speak…

    I too saw Annie in December as she made her way down to Florida, and since then I’ve spoken to her a couple-so-so times as well as been in touch via Facebook.

    She’s Annie. She’s fine. She’s living life. Not least of the many reasons I admire and love her, and find her inspiring.

  11. lehg said,

    I do wish she would post more, too. I more admire [than that I-do-wish of mine] that she doesn’t feel or at least doesn’t give into a compulsion to do so, unlike so many, including me.

    In other words: fine = great, good, grand, in my book given context.

    : )

  12. karen said,

    Well, since entertainment is kinda scarce up here- i do admit weaning myself from this lapdog… i mean laptop:0)- would probably hurt a tad, but- i have done it before.

    i typed lapdog by mistake- and i wonder what that could mean-lol.

  13. LouiseM said,

    Living life takes a variety of forms. Some spiders I flush or squash and some I admire along with their compulsions and resulting handiwork.

    Lapdog makes me smile, better than lapgod, or worse yet, palgod

Leave a comment