At Last! News of Randy.

November 30, 2012 at 2:20 pm (By Amba)

Annie,

I apologize for not responding sooner.  Randy’s main email account was lost soon after his passing in March and we could not retrieve information to send details to friends online.  I know you and the others he met online/in person were a great part of his attempt at recovery from the cancer.  You helped to make his final months as he wanted – to continue to experience life on his terms.

I certainly understand the need for closure.  Randy accepted his passing with courage, grace and love.  He was surrounded by his family and close friends and was himself until the very end.  In fact, the Monday before his passing he was sitting at the kitchen table discussing with my son what to do with the investment account they created and how to prepare himself for entering college this fall.  Randy was always enthusiastic about listening and sharing with his neices and nephews.  It brought him great joy to know he and my son shared the same keen interest in investing, architecture and Asian art.

Thank you for your making our brothers’ life so rich.

Keep the faith,

Ron

Randy Rogers

On Wed, Nov 21, 2012 at 5:46 AM, Annie Gottlieb <a-twelve@ix.netcom.com> wrote:
Many of us love Randy and need to know about the last months and weeks of his life. We have heard absolutely nothing.

If this e-mail address is still alive, please make contact.  Karen, who met Randy and his mom in Vermont; Annie, who hosts the blog “Ambiance” to which Randy sometimes contributed, and about a dozen more of us need — I hate the word “closure,” we just need to know.

Thanks.

9 Comments

  1. chickelit said,

    I met Randy for coffee a couple years when he passed through Oceanside to visit relatives further south. At the time we were both commenters on Althouse and we talked mostly about that. He had a keen interest in many of those people.

    He also knew a great deal about California and California politics and I enjoying trading comments and tweets about that. I think I learned some humility from him.

  2. jason said,

    This brought tears to my eyes, both for good and for bad reasons. His passing is a loss profound and material and unalterable, yet it’s also personal and close and painful. Despite other considerations, I’m grateful to know those final moments were rich and full yet normal and comfortable.

    He’s missed.

  3. mockturtle said,

    Thank you so much for the post! I had been wondering and it is nice to know but sad, too. Wish I had met him in person.

  4. Melinda said,

    Annie, thanks so much for telling us.

  5. karen said,

    Even though i knew– it makes it real, now.

    i know we all face the same end- death. Believing that we all ~go on~ from here, i really hope it’s in the stars(& God’s planning) that i meet Randy, again. He and his Mom visited on the greyest of days- and i swear the California sunshine radiated from them, making me feel warm and appreciated.

    Thanks for finding out, amba. I’m sorry for all of us.

  6. lh said,

    I wish my Internet and phone friend were still around so I could call him and talk about how very much I miss a dear friend who died earlier this year. : (

    I haven’t been able to delete his cell phone number from my contacts yet, which is silly, really.

    And I still have hundreds of his comments (I’ve had comments emailed to me FOREVER), Twitter DM’s (ditto) and direct emails. [As I do for tons of you: the curse of operating several, personal servers--you have an excuse to never getting around to cleaning them out, and plenty of space to download and archive emails etc. from other accounts you delete. ; ) ]. This includes the earliest of his comments at my original blog, and that was all the way back in November of 2005!!!! Starting from within a week or so after I started it, no less, and we’d already emailed before that. (I think only Mark Daniels, Ice Pick and MAYBE Ruth Anne were earlier.)

    Miss the hell out of him, oh yes, yes I do.

  7. lh said,

    Gosh, I see I even have an email from him in 2006 in which he sent me hugs from you, Annie–the details aren’t important, it was just one of those topics which involved a three-way email conversation.

    Heh. Endearing. Makes me smile. I think he’d like that.

  8. lh said,

    Chickelit: He liked you, basically said you were a keeper, and so you are.

  9. karen said,

    I think Heaven- is a blog like this.
    W/LOTS of singing.
    And never being cold.

    God is good.
    Even when it feels the opposite.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

