Look back with satisfaction

January 27, 2012 at 1:33 am (Icepick)

That’s the essence of nostalgia. I’ve been looking through my blog archives tonight, first looking for a particular old post, and then just looking at what I had done, and some of the conversations that had taken place. I stumbled upon this in a comment from a reader, discussing a favored type of comfort music:

Deep saxophone jazz, the kind that sounds like having a cigarette in bed on a hot night after sex and feeling your pulse beat under the drumskin of your belly.

Makes ya want to take up smoking, doesn’t it? I’ll tell you who wrote it later.

8 Comments

  1. Icepick said,

    It was Amba of course. I would have known it was her from that prose even if I hadn’t been told, and I imagine most who read this blog would have too. It was a comment on an old post of mine from almost six years ago. Time flies, doesn’t it?

  2. Icepick said,

    i’ve been blog archive-diving lately, off and on. Amongst things discovered was an old post of Amba’s over at her old blog highlighting someone else’s comment that blog archives are a graveyard of words. I think RealPC’s response was perfect. Plus, it allows those of us who write blogs a chance to go back and easily access our old thoughts – a window on our brains back then.

  3. karen said,

    Smoking– hell no!!!
    It makes me want to have sex ;0)!!

    “… a chance to go back and easily access our old thoughts – a window on our brains back then.”

    It’s a diary, really.

  4. A said,

    It does make me want to take up smoking. French movies always make me want to take up smoking, too.

  5. Icepick said,

    Oddly enough, anti-smoking ads make me want to take up smoking.

  6. amba12 said,

    Karen — me too.

  7. Icepick said,

    It makes me want to have sex ;0)!!

    Difference between men and women: Men don’t need to read anything to want to have sex. (At least not when everything is working normally. When we get older we might need to read the directions on the bottle. Fortunately I’m not that old yet!)

  8. callimachus said,

    the world is divided into people who smoke before sex and people who smoke after it. (Me? The first)

Leave a comment